Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Image result for harry potter book

It’s nice to be back! I haven’t posted in a little while because I’ve been super sick with the flu. I’m glad I got it after I was on vacation, but I was in bed, not doing anything for the better part of a week. Anyway, I thought I’d do something I haven’t done before today. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but I’ve seen this tag on Booktube for quite some time. TheBookArcher on Youtube started it, so check hers out! I think it’s a really fun idea!

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan! I read this book a few years ago when it was kind of popular. I hate this book more than any book… ever! John Green’s Will is AMAZING! The story would have been great had it been only his perspective, which is why it makes me so irritated that it’s not. David Levithan’s Will is AWFUL! He is so problematic and there is never a point in the story that he changes. I’ll have a full review on it sometime, but until then – just know that I have really strong feelings about the book.

2. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell! This is by far my favorite standalone ever. Tons of people hate it, though, because they feel it’s bad Harry Potter fanfic. I’ve never read Harry Potter, so I really don’t care. I thought the romance was great, cheesy fanfic or not.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

SPOILERS FOR CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE

Bat and Maia are literally the worst ever. I shipped Maia and Jordan SO HARD!!! I just think she didn’t even mourn her boyfriend’s death and just moved on the second he was gone. I don’t care if she was going to break up with Jordan, anyway. He was an important part of her life, and I just think it’s super weird she moved on so quickly (and with such a sucky character).

SPOILERS OVER

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Romance, historical fiction, realistic fiction, and sci-fi. Just give me all the fantasy and I’ll be happy!

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Everyone loves Henry Cheng from The Raven Cycle. I HATE HENRY CHENG!!! He is the worst! The group is perfect as it is. There is no reason for another member. Also, I really felt like he was just there to replace Noah, which really bothered me. I didn’t think he was funny and quirky like literally everyone else in the universe does. I just thought he didn’t really add anything, so there was no point for him.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Marie Lu. I have tried to read Legend like five times and Warcross about three times and I just can’t seem to get into her work. I don’t know why. It’s not like I don’t like her writing style or anything. It might just be her characters. I’m honestly not sure.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. – I’m modifying this one a bit to a popular book trope you love but everyone else hates.

The no parents present trope. I love when there is just a group of clueless teens with no guidance or rules. I think present parents (especially in YA) make it less fun. I have rules in my real life and it’s nice to escape that and feel what it’s like to live without them.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

HARRY POTTER. I’m sorry, it’s just not happening. I don’t really like JK Rowling as a person, which is kind of unrelated, but at the same time – I don’t want to support her work. The Lorien Legacies are in the same boat. I LOVED the first one, I am Number Four, but the author is a terrible person. (Google it.) Some series I just don’t want to read because they don’t seem great are the Divergent trilogy, the Twilight series, The Selection series, and the Maze Runner series.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

This one is the easiest for me. The Giver movie is one of my favorite movies of all time, but I didn’t like the book that much. I liked that the characters were older and the romance in the movie. I still enjoyed the book, though.

*10. What is the worst adaptation of a book you’ve ever seen?

I added this question for the sole purpose of dragging Shadowhunters, the TV adaptation of The Mortal Instruments. The acting is terrible, the plot is terrible, and Dominic Sherwood is terrible (he said a hugely inappropriate slur that makes me really mad). Anyway, save your time. The show is awful except for David Castro, who plays Raphael in the show. He’s a great actor and I love him!

I’m just going to say – if you want to do this tag, do it! I hate the whole ‘tag’ thing because people often feel left out, so I’m just going to say that everyone interested should do it!


Thanks for reading! ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. This is such an interesting tag! I don’t like The Selection of Divergent series either. Another reason why I’m not gushing about Carve The Mark much. Amazing how honest you were ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment